Kid-Friendly Halloween Pumpkin Decorating Ideas

halloween bugs

It’s that time of year again – Halloween! It’s my favorite holiday after Thanksgiving and Christmas. I love dressing up, trick-or-treating and getting bucket loads of candy! I also love all things pumpkin: pumpkin soup, pumpkin bread, pumpkin pie, even pumpkin beer. Every year, I pick up the Halloween issue of Martha Stewart’s Living magazine to see what “good things” she (or her staff) comes up with. I’m not a big MS fan, (or rather, I’m a closeted MS fan), but there’s always something good in the Halloween issue. Here are some of her Halloween ideas that I like:

Here’s what our neighbor did with her homegrown pumpkins last year when the Giants won the World Series. Cool, huh?

giants ruleI enjoy making jack o’lanterns, but carving pumpkins is no easy feat. It takes some muscle to cut through a pumpkin. As I stab away at the pumpkin, I’m always afraid I’m going to miss and cut myself. When the pumpkin is finally cracked open, there’s the messy task of pulling out the seeds and stringy pulp inside. If you want to roast the pumpkin seeds, it’s tedious sorting the seeds from the tangled mess. And once you’ve carved your jack o’lantern and light it up for Halloween night, it sits on your doorstep for a week max, before rotting away into a moldy mass. Last year, my trash was so heavy being full of rotten pumpkins, the garbage collector wouldn’t even take them. I had to hide a couple in my yard waste bucket every week to finally get rid of them.

The kids were home sick with me the past few days and to occupy their time, we decorated Halloween pumpkins. First they painted the pumpkins. Then we had to wait for the paint to dry, which is the hardest part for my kids. I’m teaching them patience. Once the paint is all dry, the kids stick on self-adhesive foam eyes and teeth, making funny faces on the pumpkin. Now comes the adult part. Using an awl, I poke holes at the base of the pumpkin and insert pipe cleaners for legs: 8 for spiders, 6 for beetles. It’s a good lesson in numbers and entomology too.

kids paint pumpkins

Voila! Creepy bugs and spiders ready to scare away trick-or-treaters at our doorstep. Can you tell which ones the kids made? My daughter’s has a tail and my son’s pumpkin is “on fire.”

DSC_1149
The best part is that there’s no knife, cutting, glue or messiness to deal with. It’s an easy way for kids to decorate pumpkins and they turn out pretty darn cute too. And that’s a very good thing!

-Catherine Lo

One thought on “Kid-Friendly Halloween Pumpkin Decorating Ideas

  1. Pingback: Halloween Decorations on a Dime | Life in a House of Testosterone

Leave a comment