Kimchi fried rice

kimchee 2

We invited friends over for Korean BBQ the other night. Being a fair-weather vegan, I wanted to make a filling side dish to be my main, and yummy enough to please all the meat eaters at the table. I whipped up this easy recipe for kimchi fried rice:

  • Make 3 cups brown rice in rice cooker

  • Olive oil 1 tablespoon

  • ½ white onion – diced

  • Sesame oil 1 tablespoon

  • Small jar of kimchi – roughly chop up the cabbage

  • Korean red pepper paste (gochujang) 1 tablespoon

  • Low-sodium soy sauce 1-2 tablespoons to taste

  • Scallions 3 – chopped

I heated the olive oil and added the onions to saute until translucent. Cranked up the heat and added the rice and sesame oil. Then added the rest of the ingredients and stir-fried. For non-vegans, it’s even better topped with a fried egg, letting the yolk run over the rice. I was happy when my Korean friends said that it reminded them of comfort food that their own Korean mothers would make. Not bad for a Chinese vegan chick.

-Catherine Lo

Leave a comment