Bento Box School Lunches

When my son started preschool, I had the usual apprehensions of a mother sending her kid off to school for the first time: will he cry the whole time, will he like his teachers, will he make friends? But one of my biggest concerns was “What will I pack for his lunch?” I like the idea of bento boxes – they’re so cute & organized. I adapted a bento-style way to pack his lunch everyday. I like having compartments which not only keeps food separate but helps me think about providing a variety of tastes and food groups. My son loves fruit so his lunch always contains a good portion of fruit. If he doesn’t like the rest of his lunch, I know he’ll at least eat the fruit. I always try to put a green veggie in his lunch, and he’ll even remind me if I forget: “Where’s something green?” I’ve tried out several food options and now have a repertoire of go-to lunches. Here’s what’s on the menu:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

-Catherine Lo

Leave a comment